Review – Whisper on a Scream by Cree Walker

Whisper on a ScreamGenre: Paranormal Romance
Series: The Sugar and Spice Series, Book 1
Bought my copy from All Romance for $4.49 on August 10th, 2012

Blurb
The werewolves are dying. Years of war between the Born werewolves and bitten, along with a lack of healthy bloodlines, has taken its toll on the race and if something isn’t done soon they will all be gone within the next fifty years. They are a strong breed, but have one major weakness that will probably end them all.

Werewolves – like their natural counterpart the wolves – breed for life; and if there is no mate, there is no life. A prolonged separation between mates can kill them more efficiently than any bullet ever could.
The Council are playing with fire when they use this very weakness against Sugar Lubec, the Born daughter of two bitten parents, to carry the offspring of Alpha Jack Coon. He is the leader of the largest werewolf pack in North America.

Ending the war between the two groups is the only thing that can save the werewolves and bring Jack and Sugar together. Can they do it before they end up paying the ultimate price for their long separation? Or will that price be the only thing that can end the war?

Thoughts
When I started this book, I almost couldn’t finish reading it. I stopped at 40 pages with the intention of being done with the book. I am glad I didn’t. Sugar Lubec is the heroine that I love the most. This poor girl has had life rough as hell and it just keeps getting worse. I don’t know how she lived through everything she has and is still sane. Not only is she sane, but she’s pretty normal considering.

This book was full of so many twists and turns. I was surprised by what happened so many times in this book, that I just quit trying to figure out what was going to happen. Then the ending, I wanted to SCREAM – NOOOOOO!  This was not the HEA I thought would happen. I was devastated last night when I finished the book, only find out that there is a second book that might, and that’s a big might make me happier. I hope the HEA I wanted for this book happens in the next, reading the blurb though, it doesn’t seem like it. I will be holding my breath to see.

Rating: 4 stars
Reviewed by Slinky


Contact the Author:
Website | Goodreads
Buy the Book: Amazon ($4.99) | B&N ($4.99) | ARe ($4.49)

One thought on “Review – Whisper on a Scream by Cree Walker

Leave a Reply

