Review – Close to You (A Laurel Heights Novel) by Kate Perry

Close to YouBlurb
When Treat Byrnes walks into her bookstore café, Eve Alexander wants to eat him up. Bad boy isn’t her usual flavor, but for the sexy contractor, she’s willing to take a walk on the wild side.

Treat meets Eve on a reconnaissance mission for his mother, who owns a neighboring teashop, but he keeps going back to Eve for her sweet smile and sassy shoes. He has a history of falling for damsels-in-distress, but Eve doesn’t need rescuing. Not even when her cafe is sabotaged.

But when Treat finds out the saboteur is his own mother, he knows he has to do something before things go too far.

Thoughts
This is the second book in the Laurel Heights series and the second book of Kate Perry’s that I’ve read. Perfect for You, the first book in the Laurel Heights series was the first. I loved both of these books and will definitely be reading the rest of the series (see my review for Perfect for You here). Close to You was a really good and quick read. I love that I didn’t find typos and grammatical errors. It’s so refreshing to read a book and not want to mark it up. I find that this is the case with both of the books I have read by Kate Perry. Her stories flow together seamlessly and the words just meld so well.

I love the conflict and how it’s resolved. Kate Perry drew me in and had me feeling betrayed and pissed right along with her characters. I feel like I could walk out my door and meet Treat or Eve either one. The secondary characters are the same. She makes everyone seem so real. I love when an author does this and find that it’s much rarer than you would suspect. Kate Perry is fast moving up on my list of favorite authors. I can’t wait to read more from this series.

Rating: 5 stars
Reviewed by Slinky

Author Links: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

