Review – House Rules by Chloe Neil

House RulesBlurb
In a city full of vampires, trouble never sleeps.

At the tender age of 27, Merit became a sword-wielding vampire. Since then, she’s become the protector of her House, watched Chicago nearly burn to the ground, and seen her Master fall and rise. Now she’ll see her mettle—and her metal —tested like never before.

It started with two . . . Two rogues vanishing without a trace. Someone is targeting Chicago’s vampires, and anyone could be next. With their house in peril, Merit and her Master, the centuries old Ethan Sullivan, must race to stop the disappearances. But as they untangle a web of secret alliances and ancient evils, they realize their foe is more familiar, and more powerful, than they could have ever imagined.

Thoughts
Chloe Neill is one of my favorite authors. She is one of the authors whose books greeted me out of my ten year reading hiatus about two and a half years ago. Chicagoland Vampires was the second series I read coming in from above spoken hiatus and I am thrilled she will be the first review on my site. And I was thrilled to know that someone could write and make the characters come to life and feel as if you would meet them in the street. As I continued to read the series, Ms. Neill continued to draw me in. I couldn’t wait for the release of House Rules.

Merit is the heroine I see myself being. She is secure in herself, even if she doubts her and Ethan’s relationship every now and then (with what they’ve been through who wouldn’t). This book just continued the story and picked up right where Biting Cold left off.

Merit and Ethan once again face the GP and this time it’s to disband from them. They expect the GP to do something, they just had no idea what. Ethan formed a team of vampires to help with the transition, on this team was Lacey Sheridan. Lacey fancies herself in love with Ethan and does everything in her power to try to make Ethan see Merit is all wrong for him, while of course, she is his perfect choice. While the house is already consumed by the drama of the GP, she reveals one of Merit’s secrets to him causing even more strife. You don’t know until the end if the couple is going to overcome the issues Lacey brought forth. You never know with these two and that’s precisely what I love.

Normally, I am a happily ever after kinda girl, but with Chicagoland, I just roll with the punches. I bawled my eyes out when Ethan died in Hard Bitten. How could Chloe do this to me I wondered. What is Merit to do? Where is her happily ever after. Then Chloe brings Ethan out of the ashes and all is well (as well as can be expected that is). This series is a rollercoaster of emotional torment. I don’t know if I will ever be ready to get off. I can’t wait to see where Ms. Neill takes us next in Biting Bad (which I’ve already preordered). I don’t know how I will wait until August 6th, but hopefully I will make it. This book rocks. If a fan of Chicagoland vampires, you will not be disappointed. If this series is new to you, may I suggest, read the series in order. It will be so much better for you!

Rating: 5 stars!
Reviewed by Slinky

Contact the Author: Website · Twitter · Facebook  · GoodReads
Buy the Book: Amazon  · All Romance  · Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

